Which OBD2 scanners have no subscription?

Get the BlueDriver Pro ($94.94). BlueDriver says it has no subscription fees or add-ons, and it reads ABS and airbag codes. The FIXD Sensor costs less up front, but FIXD Premium is $12.99 a month or $99.99 a year after the free trial.*1–3

Our picks

Best for most people

No fees, and it reads ABS and airbag codes

BlueDriver Pro (Next-Gen)

Phone app + plug-in · No subscription, per BlueDriver

$94.94 on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

Best handheld

Free lifetime updates, per TOPDON

TOPDON ArtiDiag500 (AD500)

Handheld · Engine, transmission, ABS, airbag

$159.99 on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

Lowest price with free updates

Free lifetime updates for under $40

ANCEL AD410

Handheld · Engine codes · No phone needed

$39.99 on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

Prices on Amazon, October 26, 2026. Fee and update claims are each maker's own.*3

Most OBD2 scanners are a one-time purchase. A few aren't. Some phone apps charge a monthly or yearly fee after a free trial. Some sell the useful parts, like ABS and airbag codes, as add-ons. One handheld's Amazon listing says most of its service functions end after a trial.

We read what 24 scanners cost after you buy them, on their makers' sites, app store pages and Amazon listings. We note who makes each "no fees" claim, because in 7 cases only the Amazon seller does.

What each scanner costs after you buy

"Maker": the maker's own site, manual or app store page says it. "Amazon listing only": only the seller's listing says it, and the maker's page we read doesn't.

What each OBD2 scanner costs after you buy, and who says so
ScannerAfter you buyWho says so
You may pay more after you buy (6)
FIXD SensorAmazon · $39.99Premium is $12.99 a month or $99.99 a year after a free trial, and it renews on its own.*2FIXD App Store page
OBDLink CXAmazon · $79.95ABS, airbag and other enhanced codes are a paid in-app add-on. Price not stated.*4Maker
TOPDON ArtiDiag600 SAmazon · $195.99The 9 services it keeps stay free. The other 21 work only during a 30-day trial; no price given for them.*5Amazon listing
Veepeak OBDCheck BLEAmazon · $31.98No fee for the adapter, but no app comes with it. Apps that read ABS and airbag are "usually paid," the maker says.*6Maker
LAUNCH CRP123XAmazon · $177.64Some features are sold in a built-in store. Prices not stated.*7Amazon listing
Foxwell NT510 EliteAmazon stock not confirmedBrands beyond BMW, Mini and Rolls-Royce are an upgrade. Price not stated.*8Maker
No fees or free lifetime updates, says the maker (8)
ANCEL AD410Amazon · $39.99Free lifetime updates*9Maker
BlueDriver Pro (Next-Gen)Amazon · $94.94No subscription or add-on fees*1Maker
XTOOL Anyscan A30MAmazon · $135.12Free lifetime updates*10Maker
OBDLink MX+Amazon · $139.95No subscription or add-on fees*11Maker
TOPDON ArtiDiag500 (AD500)Amazon · $159.99Free lifetime updates*12Maker
TOPDON ArtiDiag900 LiteAmazon · $329.00Free lifetime updates*13Maker
Innova 5610Amazon · $349.99No subscription; free updates*14Maker
ANCEL VD500Amazon stock not confirmedFree lifetime updates*15Maker
No fees, says only the Amazon listing (7)
Autel AL319Amazon · $29.99No fees*16Amazon listing only
LAUNCH CR529Amazon · $44.99No fees*17Amazon listing only
Foxwell NT301Amazon · $55.99No fees*18Amazon listing only
Innova 5210Amazon · $89.99No fees*19Amazon listing only
Foxwell NT604 EliteAmazon · $135.95No fees*20Amazon listing only
Foxwell NT630 PlusAmazon stock not confirmedNo fees*21Amazon listing only
Autel AL619Amazon stock not confirmedNo fees*22Amazon listing only
Not stated anywhere we read (3)
ANCEL AD310Amazon · $29.99Not stated*23—
Autel AL519Amazon · $59.99Not stated*24—
OBDLink EXAmazon · $69.95Not stated*25—

Source: maker sites, app stores and Amazon listings, read October 24, 2026*3 · Free to reuse with credit to Pacific Parts Department

The fine print, scanner by scanner

FIXD Sensor ($39.99). FIXD's App Store page lists Premium at "All this and more for just $12.99/month or $99.99/year." and says "After your free trial, your iTunes account will be charged, and the subscription will automatically renew." The Amazon title doesn't mention a subscription; one bullet says "Free Premium Trial Included (& Optional)." FIXD's own website blocked our reader, so these come from its App Store page.*2

TOPDON ArtiDiag600 S ($195.99). TOPDON's page says updates are free for life. But the Amazon listing says that 30 days after activation it unlocks a "free 30-day trial of all 30 special services. When the trial ends, it returns to the original 9 services." So 21 of 30 services stop after the trial. Neither page says what they cost to keep.*5

OBDLink CX ($79.95) vs MX+ ($139.95). OBDLink's app page says enhanced codes, like ABS and airbag, "can be purchased in-app for other OBDLinks." The MX+ includes them: "All OBDLink app OEM add-ons are free to MX+ users." No price is listed for the CX add-on.*4, 11

Veepeak OBDCheck BLE ($31.98). The adapter has no fee, but "A third party OBD2 app is required." Veepeak says apps that do more, like ABS and airbag, are "usually paid or require in-app purchase or subscription."*6

LAUNCH CRP123X ($177.64). Its Amazon listing says a built-in store sells extra features and that "Paid features carry significant restrictions." The same listing promises "lifetime-f r e e upgrades" and says "Do not go to LAUNCH Tech U S A." Launch's own page we read doesn't make that update promise, so treat it as the seller's.*7

Any scanner on a 2018 or newer Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep or Ram. To clear codes, the tool must be registered with AutoAuth.*26 AutoAuth's plans start at $5 a month, billed yearly. That fee is separate from any scanner.*27

Our pick for most people

BlueDriver Pro (Next-Gen)

BlueDriver's photo of its no-subscription promise.
BlueDriver's photo of its no-subscription promise. Image: BlueDriver, via Amazon.

Who it's for. Anyone who wants ABS and airbag codes on a phone and never wants a bill after checkout.

Why we picked it. BlueDriver's page says "No in app fees or add-ons. One purchase gets you everything you need." It also lists ABS and airbag reading on 11 of the 12 makes we checked, more than any other.*1

Flaws but not dealbreakers. BlueDriver's own page says "24/7 Support and Updates" without a term. Only the Amazon listing says "Free app updates included."*1

What owners report.

  • Owners say it reads ABS, airbag and transmission codes that cheap readers miss, and that it has paid for itself.*28–30
  • Some report connection trouble or readings that don't match.*28
  • It doesn't read every system on every brand. A Mercedes owner says an Autel tool scans more of his car's systems.*31
$94.94 on Amazon, October 26, 2026Check price on Amazon

Our pick for a handheld

TOPDON ArtiDiag500 (AD500)

TOPDON's photo of the four systems the AD500 reads.
TOPDON's photo of the four systems the AD500 reads. Image: TOPDON, via Amazon.

Who it's for. People who want a screen in their hand and four systems (engine, transmission, ABS, airbag) with free lifetime updates.

Why we picked it. TOPDON's own page says "Updates Included: Free Lifetime." That is a maker promise, not just a seller's. It costs $36.00 less than TOPDON's ArtiDiag600 S, which has the trial catch above.*3, 12

Flaws but not dealbreakers. TOPDON gives a brand count, not a make list, so check your car in its coverage tool first.

What owners report.

  • Owners say it is easy to set up and handles jobs like retracting an electric parking brake for a pad change.*32–34
  • One owner says he chose it for its lifetime updates and no yearly fees.*34
  • Some Amazon reviewers say it didn't read airbag (SRS) codes on their car, didn't connect, or didn't work on a Volvo.*32
$159.99 on Amazon, October 26, 2026Check price on Amazon

Our pick for the lowest price with free updates

ANCEL AD410

ANCEL's photo of the AD410 beside an engine.
ANCEL's photo of the AD410 beside an engine. Image: ANCEL, via Amazon.

Who it's for. People who only need the check engine light and want free updates for life.

Why we picked it. ANCEL's page says "The AD410 supports lifetime free software upgrades." The Amazon listing says "No battery, charger, Bluetooth, or phone app needed."*9

Flaws but not dealbreakers. It reads engine codes only; ANCEL sells a different model, the AD610 PRO, for ABS and airbag codes. It costs $10.00 more than the ANCEL AD310, whose page doesn't mention updates.*9, 23

What owners report.

  • Owners say it reads codes accurately and shows live data, including oxygen sensor graphs.*35, 36
  • Several Amazon reviewers find the manual hard to follow, and one Reddit owner calls the button layout "a little goofy" at first.*35, 37
  • It reads the engine only. One owner says it shows "some but not all" live data.*38
$39.99 on Amazon, October 26, 2026Check price on Amazon

How to check for fees before you buy

  1. Read the app store page, not just the Amazon listing. In-app prices and auto-renewal show up there.
  2. Look for "trial" on the listing. A trial means something turns off or starts billing later.
  3. Find the "no fees" line on the maker's own site. If only the seller says it, the maker hasn't promised it.

Questions people ask

What is the best OBD2 scanner without a subscription?
The BlueDriver Pro ($94.94). BlueDriver says there are no subscription fees or add-ons, and it reads ABS and airbag codes. For a handheld, get the TOPDON AD500 ($159.99).
Does FIXD charge a monthly fee?
FIXD Premium is $12.99 a month or $99.99 a year after a free trial, per FIXD's App Store page, and it renews on its own. The Amazon listing calls Premium optional.
Do TOPDON scanners need a subscription?
TOPDON says the AD500 and ArtiDiag900 Lite have free lifetime updates. The ArtiDiag600 S keeps 9 services free, but 21 more work only during a 30-day trial, per its Amazon listing.
Does the BlueDriver app charge fees?
No, per BlueDriver: "No in app fees or add-ons. One purchase gets you everything you need."
Do LAUNCH scanners need a subscription?
The CRP123X listing on Amazon says some features are sold in a built-in store, with no prices given. Launch's own page we read doesn't mention fees.

Review log

  • Prices and stock checked on Amazon October 26, 2026.
  • : Published

Notes and sources

  • We read each maker's product pages, FAQs and app store pages, and each Amazon listing, on October 24, 2026.
  • "No fees" and "free lifetime updates" are each maker's or seller's own words, shown as they wrote them. Only BlueDriver and OBDLink (MX+) speak of fees; TOPDON, XTOOL and ANCEL promise free lifetime updates. Neither is a promise from us.
  • FIXD's website blocked our reader, so FIXD facts come from its App Store page and Amazon listing.
  • Product photos come from Amazon. Next check: January 2027.
  1. BlueDriver Pro (Next-Gen): BlueDriver product page · BlueDriver page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  2. FIXD Sensor: FIXD page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  3. Prices and sellers: Amazon, read October 26, 2026. Units: Amazon's "bought in past month" on each listing, October 24, 2026.
  4. OBDLink CX: OBDLink product page · OBDLink page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  5. TOPDON ArtiDiag600 S: TOPDON product page · TOPDON page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  6. Veepeak OBDCheck BLE: Veepeak product page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  7. LAUNCH CRP123X: LAUNCH product page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  8. Foxwell NT510 Elite: Foxwell page · Amazon listing (no current price), read October 24, 2026.
  9. ANCEL AD410: ANCEL product page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  10. XTOOL Anyscan A30M: XTOOL product page · XTOOL blog · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  11. OBDLink MX+: OBDLink product page · OBDLink page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  12. TOPDON ArtiDiag500 (AD500): TOPDON product page · TOPDON page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  13. TOPDON ArtiDiag900 Lite: TOPDON product page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  14. Innova 5610: Innova product page · Innova page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  15. ANCEL VD500: ANCEL product page · Amazon listing (no current price), read October 24, 2026.
  16. Autel AL319: Autel product page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  17. LAUNCH CR529: Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  18. Foxwell NT301: Foxwell page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  19. Innova 5210: Innova product page · Innova blog · Innova page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  20. Foxwell NT604 Elite: Foxwell product page · Foxwell user manual · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  21. Foxwell NT630 Plus: Foxwell product page · Amazon listing (no current price), read October 24, 2026.
  22. Autel AL619: Autel product page · Amazon listing (no current price), read October 24, 2026.
  23. ANCEL AD310: ANCEL product page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  24. Autel AL519: Autel product page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  25. OBDLink EX: OBDLink product page · OBDLink page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  26. XTOOL (a scan tool maker), "Unlock FCA Secure Gateway-secured vehicles", read October 24, 2026.
  27. AutoAuth, plans and prices, read October 24, 2026.
  28. BlueDriver Pro (Next-Gen): Amazon listing, "Customers say" summary, which Amazon writes from its customer reviews (63,226 ratings), read October 25, 2026.
  29. Reddit r/MechanicAdvice, owner comment, posted August 7, 2020, read October 25, 2026.
  30. Reddit r/BroncoSport, owner comment, posted February 13, 2026, read October 25, 2026.
  31. Reddit r/mercedes_benz, owner comment, posted July 9, 2025, read October 25, 2026.
  32. TOPDON ArtiDiag500 (AD500): Amazon listing, "Customers say" summary, which Amazon writes from its customer reviews (1,973 ratings), read October 25, 2026.
  33. Reddit r/subaru, owner comment, posted May 14, 2026, read October 25, 2026.
  34. Reddit r/Nissan, owner comment, posted November 18, 2025, read October 25, 2026.
  35. ANCEL AD410: Amazon listing, "Customers say" summary, which Amazon writes from its customer reviews (15,851 ratings), read October 25, 2026.
  36. Reddit r/Lexus, owner comment, posted September 27, 2021, read October 25, 2026.
  37. Reddit r/AskMechanics, owner comment, posted February 9, 2023, read October 25, 2026.
  38. Reddit r/GS300, owner comment, posted November 29, 2024, read October 25, 2026.