BlueDriver vs FIXD vs ANCEL: which should you buy?

Get the BlueDriver Pro ($94.94). BlueDriver says it reads ABS and airbag codes on 11 of the 12 makes we checked, more than any other, with no subscription. FIXD costs $39.99, but its Premium plan is $99.99 a year after the trial. The ANCEL AD310 ($29.99) reads the check engine light only.*1–4

Which to get

Our pick

ABS and airbag codes, no fees

BlueDriver Pro (Next-Gen)

Phone app + plug-in · 11 of 12 makes

$94.94 on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

If you want Premium's extras

Cheapest up front, then a yearly plan

FIXD Sensor

Phone app + plug-in · Premium $99.99/yr

$39.99 on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

If you only need the check engine light

The lowest price, and no phone needed

ANCEL AD310

Handheld · Engine codes only

$29.99 on Amazon

Check price on Amazon

Prices on Amazon, October 26, 2026. Claims are each maker's own.*4

BlueDriver is the better buy for most people

  1. Its maker lists more of your warning lights. BlueDriver lists ABS, airbag and tire-pressure reading on 11 of the 12 makes we checked. FIXD's pages we could read don't say whether it reads ABS or airbag codes. The ANCEL AD310 reads engine codes only.*1–3
  2. Nothing to pay later. BlueDriver's page says "Zero Subscription Fees or Add-ons." FIXD Premium is $12.99 a month or $99.99 a year after the free trial, and it renews on its own, per FIXD's App Store page.*1, 2
  3. It costs less than FIXD plus a few months of Premium. BlueDriver costs $54.95 more up front. Pay for 5 months of Premium at the monthly price and FIXD costs more.*2, 4

What owners report

The most common praise and complaints from owner reviews on Amazon, retailer sites, forums and Reddit. Sources are listed at the end.

BlueDriver Pro (Next-Gen)

  • Owners say it reads ABS, airbag and transmission codes that cheap readers miss, and that it has paid for itself.*5–7
  • Some report connection trouble or readings that don't match.*5
  • It doesn't read every system on every brand. A Mercedes owner says an Autel tool scans more of his car's systems.*8

FIXD Sensor

  • Owners say setup takes under a minute and the app is easy to use. Basic code reading works without paying.*9–11
  • The top complaint is the subscription. Owners on Trustpilot and Reddit say they were signed up for the yearly Premium plan without meaning to.*9, 12, 13
  • Some say it doesn't read every code, or loses its connection.*9

ANCEL AD310

  • Owners say it is cheap, easy to read and does the basic job: read the code and clear the light.*14–16
  • It reads engine codes only, so it won't help with ABS or airbag lights.*17
  • Some Amazon reviewers say it stopped working.*14

Why people pick FIXD or ANCEL, and what to know

"FIXD is cheaper." Up front, yes: $39.99 against $94.94. But the listing's extras, like "get repair recommendations, cost estimates, vehicle value by condition, and live mechanic support," come with Premium. FIXD's Amazon title doesn't mention a subscription; one bullet calls Premium "Optional."*2

"FIXD reads enhanced codes too." Its Amazon listing says "from Check Engine lights to enhanced codes." FIXD's own pages we could read don't say which makes or which systems. FIXD's website blocked our reader, so we can't say yes or no.*2

"The ANCEL is the one everyone buys." It is: 30,000+ last month on Amazon, at $29.99.*4 But its listing says it "only supports the diagnosis of emission-related issues." ANCEL's own page says it "works on most 1996 US-Based, 2000 EU-Based and 2005 later Asian cars," and that some Japanese and Korean cars may not work.*3

"I don't want to use my phone." Then the ANCEL AD310 is the simple choice for the check engine light. For ABS and airbag codes on a handheld, see our handheld pick.

BlueDriver vs FIXD vs ANCEL, side by side

BlueDriver Pro, FIXD Sensor and ANCEL AD310 compared
BlueDriver ProFIXD SensorANCEL AD310
Price on Amazon$94.94$39.99$29.99
TypePhone app + plug-inPhone app + plug-inHandheld
Check engine lightYesYesYes
ABS and airbag codesYes, 11 of 12 makesNot on the pages we could readNo. Engine only (Amazon listing)
After you buyNo feesPremium $12.99/mo or $99.99/yrNot stated
DieselMixed: "most gas, diesel, and hybrid" vs "All Gas Vehicles 1996+""diesel vehicles 2006+" (Amazon listing)"12V Diesel" yes; no hybrids or EVs
Warranty1 yearNot on the pages we could readNot stated
Bought last month3,000+6,000+30,000+

Source: BlueDriver and ANCEL product pages, FIXD's App Store page, and Amazon listings, read October 24, 2026*1–4

How we pick: the scanner whose maker lists ABS and airbag reading on the most of our 12 makes, with no subscription per the maker. Want to check your own make? See ABS and airbag codes by make.

Questions people ask

Is BlueDriver better than FIXD?
For most people, yes. BlueDriver lists ABS and airbag reading on 11 of the 12 makes we checked and has no subscription. FIXD costs less up front, but Premium is $12.99 a month or $99.99 a year after the trial.
Does FIXD work without the subscription?
FIXD's Amazon listing calls Premium optional, and FIXD's App Store page sells it as an in-app purchase. The extras the listing names, like cost estimates and mechanic support, come with Premium.
Does FIXD read ABS and airbag codes?
FIXD's website blocked our reader, and the FIXD pages we could read don't say. Its Amazon listing mentions "enhanced codes" without naming makes or systems.
Is the ANCEL AD310 any good?
For the check engine light, yes: it reads and clears engine codes, shows live data, and costs $29.99. It doesn't read ABS or airbag codes, and ANCEL says some Japanese and Korean cars may not work with it.
Is BlueDriver worth the money?
If you want ABS and airbag codes, yes. It costs $64.95 more than the ANCEL AD310, which reads engine codes only.

Review log

  • Prices and stock checked on Amazon October 26, 2026.
  • : Published

Notes and sources

  • We read BlueDriver's and ANCEL's product pages, FIXD's App Store page and all three Amazon listings on October 24, 2026.
  • FIXD's website (FAQ, blog and pricing) blocked our reader. We didn't try to get around it, so we say "not on the pages we could read," not "no."
  • BlueDriver describes diesel support three ways: "including most gas, diesel, and hybrid vehicles" and "Works with All Gas Vehicles 1996+" on its own page, and "plus select light-duty trucks and diesels, including F-250, RAM 2500, Silverado, and Sierra" on Amazon.
  • What would change our pick: FIXD publishing a make-by-make ABS and airbag list, or BlueDriver adding a fee.
  • We don't count Chrysler: BlueDriver's Chrysler line repeats its Ford text, an error on BlueDriver's own page. Check a Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep or Ram in BlueDriver's vehicle checker.
  • Product photos come from Amazon. Next check: January 2027.
  1. BlueDriver Pro (Next-Gen): BlueDriver product page · BlueDriver page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  2. FIXD Sensor: FIXD page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  3. ANCEL AD310: ANCEL product page · Amazon listing, read October 24, 2026.
  4. Prices and sellers: Amazon, read October 26, 2026. Units: Amazon's "bought in past month" on each listing, October 24, 2026.
  5. BlueDriver Pro (Next-Gen): Amazon listing, "Customers say" summary, which Amazon writes from its customer reviews (63,226 ratings), read October 25, 2026.
  6. Reddit r/MechanicAdvice, owner comment, posted August 7, 2020, read October 25, 2026.
  7. Reddit r/BroncoSport, owner comment, posted February 13, 2026, read October 25, 2026.
  8. Reddit r/mercedes_benz, owner comment, posted July 9, 2025, read October 25, 2026.
  9. FIXD Sensor: Amazon listing, "Customers say" summary, which Amazon writes from its customer reviews (36,027 ratings), read October 25, 2026.
  10. Apple App Store reviews of the FIXD app, posted 2019 to 2025, read October 25, 2026.
  11. Reddit r/mazda3, owner comment, posted January 21, 2026, read October 25, 2026.
  12. Trustpilot reviews of FIXD, posted October 2026, read October 25, 2026.
  13. Reddit r/AskMechanics, owner comment, posted March 14, 2024, read October 25, 2026.
  14. ANCEL AD310: Amazon listing, "Customers say" summary, which Amazon writes from its customer reviews (67,272 ratings), read October 25, 2026.
  15. Reddit r/altima, owner comment, posted June 20, 2025, read October 25, 2026.
  16. Reddit r/YouShouldKnow, owner comment, posted April 7, 2026, read October 25, 2026.
  17. Reddit r/MechanicAdvice, owner comment, posted September 29, 2020, read October 25, 2026.